Wii U Causing Internet Problems?

For discussion of any information on Nintendo's consoles, games or anything Nintendo-related!
Zynux

Super Metroid

Wii U Causing Internet Problems?

Postby Zynux » 01.15.16 6:48pm

I'm not really tech savvy, but I just want to ask out of curiosity: Anyone have any history with consoles possibility eating up the internet from your PC or laptop?

This seems strange since I heard at least the prior Wii uses up very little bandwidth.

Our family had a very old Modem, to the point where Comcast was going to cut support from it. They eventually did, and we had to "upgrade" to the xfinity Modem/Router. We got the internet started up on all of our devices, and things were running fine for a while.

But then things for me started to get crappy when it came to the internet: things were often running extremely slow or not at all, and often cutting out and coming back. At first I thought my Network adapter was dying, but then it goes to show that it works perfectly fine downstairs. This is when I noticed that I was the only one in my household experiencing this issue: everyone else had relatively fine internet.

My and my older brother live in the same room, so I had suspected that maybe there were complications there (even though prior things were fine). He's on an Ethernet while I use Wi-fi. When he was in the hospital my internet ran better but when he came back things were a bit slow again, so maybe we were for some reason using up tons of internet. But my bro wasn't downloading anything, no torrents, or whatever, so it seems strange that that would be the case.